Programming in Algebra 1

After doing some programming in my Honors Algebra 2 class, I turned over to my freshmen Algebra 1 class. Very different group of kids, so I created a whole new intro. This time, I walked them through every tiny thing and didn’t expect them to do nearly as much from scratch.

The set-up that I used for the first two lessons was:

-a written hand-out with both questions requiring written responses and instructions for coding (lesson 1 and lesson 2)

-an entry on my programming club blog with code to copy (lesson 1 and lesson 2)

-kids coded in http://www.coffeescript.org

Then for the third, which only a handful got to, I used:

-a written hand-out with explanations only

-coding in sublime and running programs in firefox

The first two days went really well. Then on the third day, kids who hadn’t gone very quickly and were still on earlier lessons started to flag. I wasn’t really able to help all 22 kids in my big class as much as they needed, what with having to constantly add dropbox to various computers that it had mysteriously disappeared from, and the momentum had run out, so on the third day I saw much less enthusiasm. I really should have just moved them all onto the day 3 activity no matter what, because it was visual, which always helps, and since it was just a 3 day thing, it wasn’t crucial that they all did each lesson straight through.

A consistent problem was getting students to understand WHERE in my prepared code they were supposed to add their own things. I did absolutely no direct instruction, which may have helped with this. Then again, since we don’t have programming classes beyond the club that I run with Adam (aka an actual pro programmer), I thought it was nice to show them that they could just sit down at a computer without anybody telling them what to do, since that would most likely most clearly mirror their experience for the next few years if they chose to continue.

One very nice thing about this all is that one of my students who has recently had very low math self esteem, to the point of handing in blank tests and quizzes, was a total rock star and was even helping other kids get started with the third lesson.

One comment

Leave a Reply

