Name that Exponent!

This is basically how I introduce logarithms to my algebra 2 and precalculus students:

I think it helps for them to be doing the process first and then having it be named (experience before formalization, as CME says, or something very similar to that). It wears off after a couple of days, so I’ve found that having Do Nows that include a few “name that exponents” along with “log” questions in the beginning of class scattered into the weeks of my log unit help keep them from being terrified of what log means.

One comment

  1. marbit

    AWESOME. I wish I had role models at my school that did things like this. Nobody in my department has probably ever heard of experience before formalization (or something very similar to that) – and if they have, they clearly didn’t think much of it.

Leave a Reply

